Sahana Nandakumar the Chair of Arc Board for 2020-21

​Arc is pleased to announce Sahana Nandakumar has been elected by the Arc Board of Directors as the Chair of the Arc Board for the 2020-21 term.

The role represents the peak leadership position for the student organisation Arc@UNSW Ltd. After being elected by the students of UNSW to a student director position, the Arc Board of Directors then elects their Chair who serves a term of 1 year.

Sahana Nandakumar (she/her) is a 4th year Medicine student from Sri Lanka. On being appointed, Sahana said

“I am thrilled to assume the position of Arc Chair for 2020-21. Arc ensures that UNSW students have an incredibly vibrant experience at university. I am excited to be a part of it and will continue to discuss new ways of supporting student life.

However, she expects the role to be challenging “As the economy and university emerges from COVID-19, the next 12 months are going to be demanding for Arc, but we as a Board working along with a dedicated staff team are up for the challenge.”

Arc CEO Shelley Valentine is confident that 

“Sahana’s enthusiasm for all aspects of student life and her deep passion to serve her peers and the student community will make her an exceptional Chair and further Arc’s mission of creating the best student experience.

The outgoing Chair of the Arc Board is 5th year Medicine student Ben Jones. Over his 2 years on Arc Board, Ben has been pivotal in the renewal of the Arc Strategic Plan and its first year of implementation. He pioneered the creation of the first Arc Indigenous Strategy and has focused the organsation over the past several months on navigating COVID-19.

Current CEO Shelley Valentine said “We are exceedingly grateful for Ben’s custodianship of Arc Board. His kindness, thoughtfulness and championing of students has made a substantial positive impact upon Arc and we wish him all the very best for the future."

Sahana will assume the role of Chair of the Arc Board from 1st July 2020.

For more information on Arc Board click here.

Get in touch

Arc Board

Sahana Nandakumar - Chair of the Board

Membership Enquiries

A:Gate 5 on High St, UNSW