Heinz Harant Award

The Heinz Harant Award is awarded annually to an individual who has shown exemplary volunteering within the Arc @ UNSW community.  

Who Should be Nominated?

Nominations may be accepted from:

  • a Student Member of Arc; or
  • an Associate Member of Arc; or
  • an Alumni Member of Arc; or
  • a Staff member of Arc; or
  • a Staff member of UNSW.

Volunteers are the life-blood of Arc and we want to recognise their hard work and dedication. If you know anyone who has gone above and beyond with their volunteer activities (through Arc), you should nominate them for this award. 

Nominations are accepted from 9AM TUE 10 APR - 4PM THU 3 MAY, 2018.

How to submit a nomination?

To nominate your superstar, click here to view WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW, prior to your nomination.

Once you have collated all the relevant information, please proceed here, to the Heinz Harant Award Online Form. Your final submission must be made using this form.

Who is this Heinz guy?

Heinz Harant was a WW2 refugee, who was in the fourth graduating engineering class of 1955. During his time at UNSW he was a kickass activist, and started many of the committees and councils on campus, focusing on everything that makes UNSW fair today.

The Heinz Harant Award is a way in which the Arc community can recognise and honour the valuable and exemplary volunteer service of an individual, who has made a significant contribution to student life at UNSW in volunteer services within Arc.

Who to contact

If you have any questions or would like further information, please contact Natasha Petter n.petter@arc.unsw.edu.au

Nominate an exceptional volunteer today

Read More

Check out the below Heinz Harant video!

The following Heinz Harant Award recipients are recognised for their significant contribution to the UNSW community and have proven their leadership skills through involvement in student organisation activities - well done to all!

1993 Lara Hintze & Stephen Ford
1994 Selena Griffith & Amanda Hutton
1995  Chad Davis, Mark Pulmano
1996 Anne Taylor, Timothy Collins & Holly Gerard
1997 Matt McManus
1998 Seamus Byrne, Christopher Chuck & Karen James
1999 Giles Hardie & Peter Heery
2000 Pauline Wall, Renee Lim & Richard Pang
2001 David Eyers & Samantha Hickey
2002 Lainie Arnold
2003 Andrew Johnston, Mark Johnstone & Kynan Noesjirwan
2004 Benjamin Robinson
2005 James Yau
2006 Michael Richardson & Jeff Forrest
2007 Steven Legg
2008 Miles Portek
2009 Leigh Dunlop
2010 Chris Moore & Rachel Smith
2011 Meganne Christian
2013 Bridget Poon
2014 Matthew Ward
2015 Christopher Antonini, Michelle Dunn & Eytan Rocheta
2016 Eric Souksai