Candidates & Voting Info

Arc Board Elections 2022

Statement from the Chair

Read More


Voting for the Arc Board elections will be conducted online. 

Voting commences: Monday 04 April 2022 at 9:00am

Voting concludes: Thursday 7 April 2022 at 11:59pm

According to Arc Regulations, clause 10.7(ii), a minimum of two (2) Student Director positions up for election each year must be filled by women.

Who Can Vote

All Members of Arc as at the close of nominations (09 March 2022), are entitled to vote for the Student Director positions on the Board.

This means that:

  • that you must have activated or renewed, your Arc membership on or before 09 March 2022.
  • that your projected graduation date indicated as being 2022 or beyond.

How to Vote

All Arc members eligible to vote will be sent an email containing a link to the voting page. This link is assigned to your email address and will allow you to vote once. As soon as the link is used and a vote is cast, the link will expire and you will not be able to use that link again to vote (even if it is forwarded to another email address)

NOTE: the email will be sent to the address you nominated when completing your Arc membership form. It will not automatically be sent to your UNSW email address. If you are not sure which email you have provided, please log in to SpArc to view your personal details. 

Once you receive your voting link via email, vote for your preferred candidate by placing the figure 1 in the square opposite the candidate. Voters may place consecutive figures (commencing with the figure 2) in the squares opposite the remaining candidates, in order of preference.


All Arc members by voting during this election, they acknowledge that they are current UNSW students.

*THIS INFORMATION WAS PROVIDED BY THE CANDIDATES AND THE RETURNING OFFICER ACCEPTS NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ITS ACURACY. Statements containing more than 150 words may be cut beyond the 150th word so as not to exceed that limit.*

Oscar Iredale

CANDIDATE | Arc Board Student Director

Hey, my name is Oscar and I’m a second year Arts/Law student running for Arc Board in 2022! I have put my hand up because I am passionate about improving our experiences at university and making student life the best it possibly can be, and I believe Arc is the best vehicle to achieve this. I have experience in several executive roles in student clubs and societies on campus, including Law Society and PPE Society. As a board member, it will be a priority of mine to ensure that students can get the most out of Arc through improving clubs, events, and opportunities. This is more important than ever after a number of disrupted years due to Covid. I promise to be an approachable board member and always ready and willing to listen and act on your concerns so that we can make the change that you want to see.  

Katia Fenton

CANDIDATE | Arc Board Student Director

I would love to be part of the Arc board as a student as I would like to be involved in a key part on the university and the impact that Arc has on all aspects of University life. As a second year student I have just started experiencing on campus life and am really keen in throwing myself into it and being able to help make decisions with Arc to better UNSW. I have already thrown myself into being an executive for events on QSIS assisting in restarting this club and also participating in the UNSW Mardi Gras float demonstrating my enthusiasm for on campus and Arc events. I would love to be on the board especially as a non-binary queer student to bring diversity and give new ideas as well as just meeting other people that are as enthusiastic about UNSW as I am. 

Hamish Covell

CANDIDATE | Arc Board Student Director

Hey! This may get lost in a swarm of samey looking statements, all vaguely promising the same things with the same lofty goals that are never followed through on. But that’s just not the kind of board member I want to be. What have I got to back myself up? Well, I’ve got experience in student representation, both on the university level and a national one! I’ve served on the Inter-Residential Council, been an executive in a highly active society and aided other Arc Board members in a variety of ways over my years at university. I aim to be an informed, engaged and conscientious member of the board and one who will promote and expand the great ideals the board already stands for, like inclusivity, diversity and student engagement. So if you want to vote for a knowledgeable and eager candidate then please consider Hamish for Arc board. 

Arthy Mukunthan

Arc Board Student Director (Elected by Default)

Hi! My name is Arthy and I am looking forward to hopefully representing you in the coming years as a member of the Arc Board. Throughout the last few years of university, I have been involved with Arc through numerous avenues including the inter-residential council, club executive positions and overarching Arc initiatives. As such, I would love to serve on this board to help Arc provide the best support for students in order for you to have the best university experience possible. I feel that in order to provide you with such, I will strive to work with the Arc board to further promote an inclusive, supportive and diverse university community. Therefore, I hope to represent you in the next two years to help you have the best experience possible. If that sounds like something you could support I would love your vote for Arc board!

Natalie Newman

Arc Board Student Director (Elected by Default)

Hi, my name is Nat and I’m a second year Advanced Science student running for Arc Board in 2022! I’m running to be a voice for students from all backgrounds and beliefs and to promote an inclusive and welcoming environment for all students on campus. Coming out of COVID, students must be involved in the process of adapting our classes to a hybrid online-offline environment and should not have to be complacent with a mode of delivery they did not sign up for. Additional support must also be available and accessible for all students. Having served as Arc Delegate for a society during my first year, I also have the experience required in society management and Arc conferencing to be suited to this role. I am an enthusiastic and sociable person who is passionate for creating change, and I plan to work hard to deliver these outcomes to all students.

Company Secretary

Joelle Barallon

Returning Officer