new Arc Chair Announced

The Arc Board of Directors is delighted to announce that on Tuesday 22nd June, director Laura Montague was unanimously elected Chair of the Arc Board.

Laura is currently in her 4th year of her Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws dual degree. She is a Residential Advisor at UNSW Residential College Baxter; has been heavily involved in Arc Clubs & Societies, Nura Gili and represented UNSW at Indigenous Nationals. She is a proud Barkindji woman and the first Indigenous woman Chair in Arc’s 13-year history.

As Chair of the Arc Board, Montague will oversee the strategic direction of one of the largest student organisations in Australia as they deliver on their mission to create the best student experience. The Arc Board of Directors is comprised of 15 people, the majority of which are current UNSW students – with 8 student directors plus the SRC President & PGC Presidents.

CEO of Arc, Shelley Valentine was pleased with the appointment 

“Laura brings an immense amount of experience and passion for student life to her chairpersonship. I am eager to work closely with her in delivering outstanding social, recreational, developmental and support outcomes for the students of UNSW." 

Montague was thrilled and focused, 

Arc has done an incredible job at supporting UNSW students throughout COVID, and I am very excited to continue to build on this success throughout the next 12 months and beyond.”

In her year-long tenure as the Chair of the Arc Board, Laura is committed to improving the student experience and building collaborative relationships with UNSW Management and UNSW’s current and yet-to-be-named incumbent Vice Chancellor. She will also commence work on the new Arc Strategic Plan 2022-2025.

Outgoing Chair of the Arc Board Sahana Nandakumar said of the appointment, 

“I have always admired Laura’s passion to support student life and have no doubt that the organisation is in safe hands. The upcoming year will be crucial for Arc’s recovery. Laura and the Board of directors will compassionately represent the current and future needs of UNSW and deftly lead Arc in defining its strategic direction."

Alongside her Kyra Lee Shanyi was elected Student Development Committee Convenor, Jessica Lasky was elected Honorary Treasurer, Helena Ye was elected Chair of the Nominations & Remuneration Committee and Oliver Pike was elected the Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee. Historically, Lasky will be completing her 4th term as Honorary Treasurer – a testament to her financial acumen and commitment to Arc.